this is what we made.

image

Where I come from there are no
ifs.
There is the ground and the sky
our feet and our hands.

Where I come from there are only “whens”.
What we made was all we got. So I made this.
me.

Where I come from time
is hope.

Time is hope but 

if you laugh now you’ll cry later Mama told us.

 

No clock can express how far the future felt.

In the time it took to dream I could have been there already, but 

Papa took my ticket with him 

 

If you laugh now you’ll cry later so feet down head up child,

 

there are no ifs where we come from.

Leave a Reply

